Rampage Jackson: “Acting is Kind-of Gay”

I have been mulling over doing a post about Rampage Jackson’s (agent’s) brilliant marketing move to have his fight coincide with the release of his A-Team remake. Despite Jackson losing to Rashad Evans this past weekend, I still thought it would make a good story.

Then I came across this story on the LA Times site and I could not resist the urge to discuss it. Now, you don’t get cast to play the embodiment of Mr. T by being soft or good-natured, but I would have to describe Jackson’s comments as a little inflammatory.

“Acting is kind of gay,” Jackson said. “It makes you soft. You got all these people combing your hair and putting a coat over your shoulders when you’re cold. I don’t want a coat over my shoulders! I’m a tough-ass [expletive deleted]!

“Vancouver strikes me as a San Francisco-kind of place,” he continued. “And I don’t want [expletive deleted] getting ideas about me. I feel in my heart I’m the toughest [expletive deleted] on the planet. And I don’t want nothing changing my train of thought. If you don’t believe that when we step inside the octagon, it shows.”

Oh brother! I wonder what Jackson would say were he forced to revisit these comments. Considering his abysmal performance on May 29th, there is a very good chance his primary income for the remainder of the year will be from being kind of gay an actor.

“Acting is kind of gay,” Jackson told Chris Lee of the Los Angeles Times of his experience filming in Vancouver. “It makes you soft. You got all these people combing your hair and putting a coat over your shoulders when you’re cold. I don’t want a coat over my shoulders! I’m a tough-ass (expletive)!
One Response to Rampage Jackson: “Acting is Kind-of Gay”

  1. Serious sport has nothing to do with fair play. It is bound up with hatred, jealousy, boastfulness, disregard of all rules and sadistic pleasure in witnessing violence. In other words, it is war minus the shooting.

Leave a Reply

